3 Mistakes I’ve Made When Talking To Parents

I’m very eager to write up my recent thoughts on how a child got lost during a nursery outing, as well as some really interesting theories of child development. However, life’s been hectic as usual, and I don’t even get a Chinese New Year holiday!

So much for equal rights.

Anyway, until I make time for those, have a look at my guest post on Deborah’s blog over at Teach Preschool. It’s called 3 Mistakes I’ve Made When Talking To Parents, and as the title suggests, it’s about some of the most common mistakes a newbie to the Early Years scene might make.

The picture’s are a bit misaligned, but Deborah blames it on the blog host. :)

About Deborah

Does she look over 20?

Deborah‘s been a professional in Early Childhood Education for over 20 years, and her experience includes being a teacher, director, curriculum writer, music director, and consultant for staff training and professional development.

She’s got over 3 thousand fans on Facebook (slightly more than me), and has a really great and active blog at Teach Preschool.

Bookmark and Share

15 responses to this post.

  1. Hey – stop giving me a hard time about those pictures:) LOL! And Yes, I do look over 20!!! You are too funny!

    Reply

    • Wow, your ‘online awareness’ is amazing :)

      Reply

      • Nah, I just happened to check my feeds and saw you had posted a new article and decided to check it out! I was surprised to see me:) I check the feeds daily for my facebook readers to keep them posted as well! Thanks for sharing the article here too!

        Reply

        • By the way – be sure to let me know when you reflect on the child that went missing in the fieldtrip. I would be interested in reading your thoughts. A really terrible incident all around.

          Reply

  2. Haha, you’ll have to stay tuned ;)

    I just finished my assignment this week, but I’ve got 3 more, and a ‘Gateway Review’ thingy coming up, etc etc etc :)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Audrey Lee on 24 February, 2010 at 4:43 am

    I think the most difficult thing to do in ece is to deal with parents/guardian. One of the difficult situations that I have experienced involved a grandmother who is the guardian of a 4 yr old child and she was diagnosed with a terminal illness.

    Several weeks after the diagnosis, her grandchild started to cry when she sent him to my centre and became more clingy. She questioned and blamed my staff for not being understanding and giving enough attention to her grandchild. I tried various ways to explain to her that it was her own emotional state (being diagnosed with the terminal illness) that had affected her emotionally and she had unknowingly transfered the emotion to her grandchild. If I were to suggest that she seek help to deal with her emotional state, she would certainly responded very negatively.

    It was very difficult to talk to her because before her diagnosis she was a strong and very independent woman. I was saddened to hear that she succumbed to the illness two years later and I hope her grandchild is doing well (he has since moved on to primary school).

    Reply

    • She probably felt that since it was ‘time for her to go’, she wanted to make everything perfect.

      People will rarely ever look to themselves as the source of a problem.

      It’s especially bad in cases where there’s actually noone to blame, i.e. accidents, illnesses, random events etc. People will still feel that someone MUST be to blame, and it can’t be themselves, so it must be the other party!

      The world would be a better place if people spent more time focusing on how to solve a problem and make progress, rather than trying to find fault and place blame.

      Reply

  4. A child from my nursery setting was sent to the hospital, and was apparently diagnosed with a hernia (?).

    The mother was convinced that it was the nursery’s fault, i.e. something he ate. And no, I have no idea how he got a hernia, last I checked, the children aren’t expected to do much heavy lifting.

    The parents, by the way, carried on with their lives as normal, eventhough the child is in the hospital, i.e., they’re not actually with him there, dad at work, mom at home. =-P

    Reply

  5. Posted by ALee on 25 February, 2010 at 3:28 am

    Yeah, sometimes it is no fault of ours (the carers and educators) and we are the ones that parents blamed. When we are in such situations, we will feel frustrated that the other party can’t see through the problem. I think we have to learn some counselling techniques to handle such parents (ie. parents who are in denial and who are emotionally unstable) and to help them move on from there.

    Btw, thanks for posting Deborah’s website. Her website has lots of info and interesting ideas. I like her songs and fingerplay section.

    Reply

    • You’re welcome. You should follow her on Facebook/Twitter then, she’s pretty active. :)

      I was in a setting before where one child had aggression issues, but nothing could be done to improve his condition, because the mother wouldn’t admit that he had an aggression issue.

      Reply

  6. Hey, last day to wish you Happy CNY! Hope you enjoyed the CNY ya! Off to read the 3 mistakes article. Tata!

    Reply

    • Alright! I’ve just read the article. Good one! But then talk too much or talk too little also got problem… Hmmm… I guess, if I’m to send my child to a daycare center next time and missed almost a whole day without knowing what my child achieved/messed up during the day, I’d love to hear all about it! And knowing that the staff at the center is so attentive to highlight and update me all the details is very very good indeed! I don’t think chaotic time when parents pick up the children should be an excuse to not listen to what the staff gotta say to me.

      Anyhoooo… thanks for sharing these mistakes as I think I can relate to it as well since I’m kinda like a full-time ‘staff’ taking care of a child… Cheers! :D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

