How I’m Treated Differently In Early Years Childcare As A Guy

Odd One Out

Odd One Out

When I was deciding to pursue my career in childcare, one of my main concerns was that I would be a male in a female-dominated industry. The issue wasn’t about me being a minority; it was whether parents would be comfortable with a male looking after their kids. I’ve been told that some parents are supposedly  apprehensive and distrustful towards grown men who take too much of an interest in their children.

Article continues here.

Bookmark and Share

7 responses to this post.

  1. Hei, i’m gonna try reverting back to my old blog address for my early childhood blog. i’ve tried a couple of weeks, and Google doesn’t seem to be re-indexing it..

    !! http://www.casadelbambino.blogspot.com.
    the name is difficult..

    but what to do.

    SIgh.

    Reply

    • Hi CY,

      How have you been trying to be re-indexed? My blog’s pretty new and small, but it still got indexed (I think it is anyway :))

      Maybe you should give it a bit more time. You’re probably more knowledgeable about these things than I am, but did you try putting your site in:
      http://www.google.com/addurl/

      Regards
      Mark

      Reply

  2. lol…

    havnt done anything to the new blog address…

    jst left it as it is.. had no time to maintain it everyday.

    was stuffed packed at work non-stop.

    Reply

  3. and yeah….. i didn’t add it to the google addurl either.

    Reply

  4. Ooh, think it would’ve helped if you used the google addurl thingy =-P

    But ah well, seems you’ve already decided to change back to the old address…

    Hey, I tried the address yesterday it works…but today it says blog not found =-P

    Reply

  5. Hehehe… Only two male students for my course but they are full time students. For part time students, all are female.

    Reply

    • Oh, don’t know why but I got the impression that there were a lot of guys in your class. At least more than two!

      It feels like I’m maybe only the 2nd or 3rd (or at least under 10) male who’ll be doing the EYPS course in my Uni.

      I have a feeling when I finish I can boast that I’m the only guy in the whole Malaysia (or probably even the whole outside of the UK) that has the qualification. =-P

      Reply

Leave a Reply

