Early Years Childcare As A Guy – My Greatest Fear

Pandora's Box

Pandora's Box

Taking the huge leap from finance into childcare was without a doubt something which changed my life forever. Along the way, I’ve constantly worried if I made the right choice, and I’ve had to face countless fears and challenges, including:

  • Resigning from my well-paid job at an investment bank
  • Trying to fit into a female-dominated industry
  • Being (wrongfully!) perceived as paedophile/sissy/failure in finance

However, once I finally got my foot in the door and started work in a childcare setting, guess what my greatest fear was? Dropping a baby was a close second, but what frightened me the most was having to deal with pooey nappies!

Pooey nappy phobia may seem silly to most, but I’ve always been extremely obsessive compulsive about hygiene. I mean, what could be worse than poo!?

Someone else’s poo, that’s what!

The human brain is capable of processing thoughts at an amazing speed. Well, that amazing processing power went into overdrive the first time I was undoing the straps to a nappy I KNEW was filled with poo. All kinds of delightful images of poo flashed through my mind.

What would it be? Liquid soup? Squishy chocolate paste? Horse-style chunks?

The correct answer was, chicken McNuggets. The 9-piece variety, not the Kiddy Meal. Many many dry pieces of lovely poo that rolled about as I moved the nappy. Did it stink? I don’t know, I held my breath the whole time.

Since then, I’ve changed a lot more pooey nappies and seen a lot more kinds of poo (Are you jealous?). I’m more used to it, but it still grosses me out. Now, my next greatest fear is getting poo on me.

How about you? What’s your greatest fear when dealing with young children? Please share it in the comments section below!

Bookmark and Share

33 responses to this post.

  1. Dropping my nephew …. I did drop him in the tub when I gave him a bath (my first time bathing a baby), but he and I survived with LOTS of hugs and apologies!

    Reply

  2. […] Early Years Childcare As A Guy – My Greatest Fear « Early Years Childcare earlychildcare.wordpress.com/2009/10/07/early-years-childcare-as-a-guy-%E2%80%93-my-greatest-fear – view page – cached Posted by MarkLim81 in Miscellaneous. Tagged: Child Care, Childcare, Early Years, Parenting. Leave a Comment — From the page […]

    Reply

  3. I could send you some shots of my baby’s poo if you want to see 😀

    Reply

  4. Haha, I think I’ve seen more than enough of Ben’s custard, don’t you think?

    I did consider including your famous picture here though. 🙂

    Reply

    • I have new collections wor… nicer now that he has started solids 😀 My offer still stands ya.. Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee….. 😀

      Reply

      • I think I’ve seen your new collection, since I follow your blog. =-P

        Shouldn’t you be collecting baby hair, hand/foot prints/moulds, that kinda thing? Instead of poo memoirs?

        Imagine when he’s older, and he wants to catch glimpses of his childhood. He’ll be old enough to go online soon you know.

        Reply

        • No no no… nobody but hubby and I have seen the new collection of ‘poo’ctures… 😀 This are all taken when Ben started taking solids 😀 When he grows up, there are tons of pictures for him to look at lah! 😀

          Reply

          • Ooh, private collection!

            Dare I ask, how has his poo evolved since starting on a solid diet?

          • Ya, private collection which I’m offering you a once-in-a-lifetime chance to see it!! Don’t you feel honoured??!! 😛 Anyway, since started solids, it has been smellier, no so liquid custard texture, stickier but the colours are ok, pretty much depends on what he had. So far, only carrots make him abit constipated.

  5. Mark, poo is just a small issue! (Maybe especially for mothers). As a mummy, my greatest fear is when my son (11 months now) is sleeping… I am so afraid of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) / cot death. Although I have all the precaution, I am just too paranoid. I will wake up just to check on him – his breathing especially when he sleeps very still (of soundly).

    Reply

  6. Hi Danielle,

    Haha, I know, that’s why I said pooey nappy phobia may seem silly to most. Most parents are so used to it, they don’t even bother.

    Yea, I’m quite concerned about SIDS as well. Especially when all the kids are sleeping, and there’s so many of them.

    But none of the other staff seem worried, so I figured it’s just one of those things you read about in the news which (hopefully) you’ll never experience for yourself.

    What kind of extra precautions do you take?

    Reply

    • Hi Mark,
      Some extra precautions are:
      1) Avoid having soft toys or pillows around
      2) Get those latex mattress that are safe – normally it’s stated the safety.
      3) No thick comforter… I only use napkin for cover him or for him to hug.
      4) Tuck in the mattress sheet carefully or use the gutter edges mattress sheet.

      Hmmm… these are just basic methods. Very commonly practice.
      I am surprised that you too are concerned about SIDS too. Well, you will make a good nurse / care provider to the children. All the best!

      Hardly any guys will be so committed in this field. Well done Mark…

      Reply

  7. Thanks for the encouragement and the tips Danielle.

    Never mind committed, not many guys at all! 🙂

    Until recently I’d never even heard of SIDS, and as with most things we don’t know much about, it becomes scary, especially just hearing the name.

    I’m pretty sure my colleague was joking when she said we have to check now and then if the kids are still breathing, but I did actually do it. =-P

    Reply

  8. Posted by p a t t on 12 October, 2009 at 3:08 am

    yup – SIDs are largely ignored right?

    Napping next to your kid is also frowned upon – you could roll over and not notice

    is that considered an SID as well?

    Reply

  9. Posted by p a t t on 12 October, 2009 at 6:36 am

    Hey – have you ever thought about Infant care instead of Childcare?

    That’s big in Singapore – anywhere else?

    Reply

    • “Early Years” covers a broad range, but I generally like to think of it as covering from birth to schooling age.

      Here in the UK they call it birth to 5, whereas other places can be birth to 7.

      I think it’s big in lots of places, UK, Australia, America. Hm, OK, maybe mostly “Western” countries, because they don’t have so many aunties and maids…

      Why, is my content not infant-focused enough for you? 🙂

      Reply

      • I think I have downloaded this PDF book of birth to 5 guide kinda thing. Not quite sure where I saved it. Other than that, I have other PDF guides as well. You want?

        Reply

      • Posted by p a t t on 14 October, 2009 at 1:47 am

        lolz – the content is quite toddler focused la

        and since in the UK, mummies get 6 months of leave – there’s not much need for infant care right? unlike in Msia / SG where you get 2 months and then need someone to look after your baby from 3rd month onwards?

        SG is nice – they have infant care right smck in teh business district – so mummies pop over on and off throughout the day and especially during lunch

        don’t know if they hve that here in Msia

        Reply

        • That’s because SG is so tiny. =-P I’d honestly expect employers there to provide inhouse childcare.

          Is it 6 months? I usually hear of people being off for 9 months. Parents are given free childcare each week anyway, so working or not, I’d imagine they’d use it. It’s no wonder people see giving birth as a new and easy “career option”.

          Toddler focused meh? 🙂 Thought it’s kinda broad, some of the stuff can even be applied right up to teenagers. Too much baby talk and I’d end up looking like a mummy blog!

          Reply

  10. What kind of PDF guides? How bout the website where you downloaded them from?

    I’ve got loads of reading material, and should be starting work placements next week. >.<

    Reply

  11. Mmm, I see that first time mummies will first be obsessed with breastmilk, followed by poo! =-P

    Shouldn’t you be posting those pictures on your blog? 🙂

    Reply

  12. Lots of fears lah…scared of SIDS, accidentally choking on food, accidentally fall down and knock her head, accidentally fall into the tub cuz she moves around so much…so much worries lah…
    scared this and that…

    Reply

    • Haha, that’s normal isn’t it? And you’ve only got one child!

      At work, thanks to the wonderful staffing conditions, it usually felt like I’m solely responsible for the safety of more than a dozen kids at once.

      Reply

  13. ya one question that’s always been lingering in my mind…what made u suddenly make that complete 180 degree turnaround in your career?

    Reply

    • I get that question a lot, until I’ve actually been toying with the idea of writing a very short (probably less than 24 pages) ebook.

      For free of course, I doubt anyone would pay even RM1 for my book. 🙂

      But hey, people like free things, so it might bring more attention to my blog.

      Reply

  14. Posted by p a t t on 16 October, 2009 at 1:30 am

    kudos to you!

    will it be a collection of all the chilccre literature? or your own experiences?

    Reply

  15. Oh whoops, by 24 page eBook I meant a really long drawn out rant about my experiences changing careers from Finance to Childcare. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

