3 Social Understanding Activities For Young Children

Children Human Pyramid

Social Understanding Is Important For Kids To Fit Into Society

I’ve always found that young children are just plain self-centred. Even before they are born they’re already showered with attention, and their favourite first words will be me, mine and more.

Therefore, when I was required to plan an activity for my 2-3 years old age group, I decided to focus on building social understanding. I haven’t actually done it yet, but here are some of the best ideas that I came across while looking for a good activity:

Follow The Leader

Here’s the activity I’m going to try, which is an easier version of Changing The Leader. The children will take turns being the leader, doing whatever actions they wish, and the others will have to mimic their actions. I hope this will build on their awareness of others, as right now they wouldn’t even notice if they’re stepping on one another.

Lead Me

What better way to build trusting relationships than with blindfolds? One child will be blindfolded, while another will be responsible for leading him from one point to another. I’d probably remove the ‘verbal instructions only’ though, as the children are a bit young.

All In

I’ve actually been through an activity like this myself. The children will be grouped together in a contained area, perhaps on top of cushions or a rope circle. The area is then made smaller by removing cushions or making the circle smaller. They will have to communicate with one another as well as be aware of others in order for them all to stay within the contained area.

Building social understanding takes time, and it’s hard to measure the results. Nevertheless, children always delight in new experiences, so at the very least I hope they’ll have fun, and maybe even make some new friends.

Bookmark and Share

4 responses to this post.

  1. i like the “follow the leader” game, i think it’s a great way to allow the kids to express themselves, and build confidence in themselves.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Audrey Lee on 10 November, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    Good idea, Mark. I have always feel that the socio-emo factor is lacking (or forgotten) in the present result driven society. I think teaching them to make friends; pay attention and care for their friends are very important and they should be shown the correct way from young. I like your games, sounds fun and I am sure the children will love playing them.

    Reply

    • Didn’t manage to try any of the games today, due to the constant rain in England. 🙂

      I hope the kids do have fun and learn something from it.

      Kids can be so fickle, one minute they’ll hate something, the next minute they’ll love it. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

